She finally agreed!

1288142018394

She finally agreed!!

My sister, Elisabeth, got our father’s “magic in the kitchen” genes. She’s always been able to pull things together without a recipe, on the fly, with minimal ingredients. Just like Dad. I’ve been asking her to share her recipes with me and she’s resisted me for years, in part, because she doesn’t follow recipes when she’s cooking. Sometimes she does, but, lots of times she doesn’t. She makes adjustments as she goes and her meals turn out pretty amazingly. So, i think the thought of writing her magic down was a bit overwhelming, but, she figured it out and sent me the first recipe that I get to share with you.
She started with carrots… Carrot soup is one of my favorites in the fall and this one is a savory, chowder-y version that I love.

A few notes: My sis also got the carnivore gene that runs in my family… I usually prefer less, animal, and more plant, in my food, so I modified by leaving the dairy out and adding coconut cream. I also used vegetable broth in place of the chicken stock and I used coconut oil in place of canola oil – because it’s what I had in my kitchen.

Feel free to play with the spice measurements as well. I followed her instructions pretty closely this time around (except I didn’t have red pepper flakes) so I knew what I’d be sending on to you guys. But, it’s super important to think of a {non-baking} recipe as a guideline that you can tweak to your tastes. If it’s easier for you to follow a recipe word for word and number for number that’s fine too. I made enough for three days of meals {for one}.

Here are some quick notes on the traditional medicinal uses of some of the ingredients used in this recipe:

Cumin ~ has been found to reduce levels of cholesterol and blood sugar (A1c)

Coriander ~ has been helpful in reducing inflammation

Coconut ~ is often called the fat that burns calories

Source: Healing Spices by Bharat B. Aggarwal, PhD
Enjoy Elisabeth’s first recipe:

Curried Carrot Soup

Ingredients
·       2lbs carrots, roughly chopped
·       1 large yellow onion, rough chop
·       5 cloves garlic
·       4 cups unsalted chicken stock
·       1 Tbsp canola oil
·       2 fresh bay leaves (or one dried)
Curry Mix
·       1/2 tsp ground cumin
·       1/2 tsp ground coriander
·       1/4 tsp turmeric
·       1/4 tsp ground hot red pepper (not crushed flakes)
·       1/2 tsp ground mustard
·       1/2 tsp garlic powder

In a small bowl combine all the ingredients for the curry mix and set aside

In a medium pot heat the canola oil.  Add the onion and garlic and a pinch of sea salt and warm through until fragrant, about one minute.

Add the chopped carrots and stir.

Add the dried seasoning and stir to coat the vegetables

Cover the vegetables with 3 and 1/2 cups of the unsalted stock. Add the bay leaves and another pinch of sea salt.  Simmer uncovered on low until carrots are tender, about 1 hour.

Using an immersion blender pulse through until thick and creamy in texture, or transfer in batches to a blender and pulse to achieve desired consistency.

Return to pot and add remaining 1/2 cup of stock and warm through

Additional water or stock may be added if you wish to thin the soup out further.

Can be served with a dollop of Greek yogurt and chopped mint leaves as garnish.

Leave a Reply

