In the Temple of Surrender

O Endless Creator, Force of Life, Seat of the Unconscious,
Dharma, Atman, Ra, Qalb, Dear Center of our Love,
Christlight, Yahweh, Allah, Mawa,
Mother of the Universe…

Let us, when swimming with the stream,
become the stream…

Let us, when moving with the music,
become the music…

Let us, when rocking the wounded, become the suffering…

Let us live deep enough
till there is only one direction…

and slow enough till there is only
the beginning of time…

and loud enough in our hearts
till there is no need to speak…

Let us live for the grace beneath all we want,
let us see it in everything and everyone,
till we admit to the mystery
that when I look deep enough into you,
I find me, and when you dare to hear my fear
in the recess of your heart, you recognize it
as your secret which you thought
no one else knew…

O let us embrace
that unexpected moment of unity
as the atom of God…

Let us have the courage
to hold each other when we break
and worship what unfolds…

O nameless spirit that is not done with us,
let us love without a net
beyond the fear of death
until the speck of peace
we guard so well
becomes the world…

(I learned this is a Mark Nepo poem. Thank you Sherry and Janie!)

It’s one of those nights where, maybe, the inevitable shift of living (nevermind the 12-21-12 shift of the ages) is upon me. Deep feelings with no clear origin are passing through. Like the weather I hope. I was buried in a Battlestar Galactica marathon with 5 episodes left to go tonight when Netflix went down. This time, I did not argue with the spirit world. I know I have work to do and feelings to feel and fears to face. And I know I’m not alone.

I am in the temple of Surrender tonight.

This poem was a gift in my Lomilomi training but I don’t know the author. If you do, please leave the name in the comments below.

4 responses to “In the Temple of Surrender

  1. Spiritually enlightening! Thank you for sharing Nakia. 🙂
    The poem is “Earth Prayer” by Mark Nepo.

    • Thank you Sherry!

      I have Mark’s Book of Awakening and I’ve been told that’s where this poem is waiting for me.

      He’s a beautiful writer isn’t he?

      Thanks again for clearing me up. I can credit him now 🙂

Leave a Reply

